Board index Flathead Power-Technical Questions, Answers, and Suggestions Pans torque plates

torque plates

Moderators: Curt!, Pa

Post Sun Sep 10, 2006 10:14 pm

Posts: 309
Location: Cranbrook B.C. Canada
Hi everyone. I made up a set of torque plates for Pan cylinders. Does anyone know what the torque is on a set of"Pan" head bolts. Thanks in advance.
Larry

Post Sun Sep 10, 2006 11:24 pm

Posts: 2684
Location: Los Angeles, CA
The answer the old time factory wrench at my local dealer gave me back in the '60's was, "Tight is tight and too tight is broken" I use a factory head bolt wrench. When the wrench flexes about an inch I figgure they are tight.

By the way, that factory wrench from back in the '60s is still working. He is the oldest still working factory trained mechanic. These days he works for Bartells H.-D. wrenching and traveling with his race team. If your are ever at the races and the Bartells team is there go say hi to oldtimer Earl Kellerman. You will never regret meeting him. Hell, he has forgotten more than Plumber has ever written. ;-)

Post Mon Sep 11, 2006 6:23 am

Posts: 3061
Location: Central Illinois, USA
Larry!

I use 60 ft/lbs on the headbolts, and a full 40 on the basenuts.
(35 is usually spec'd for basenuts, but they seem to loosen in service at that torque.)

And well-lubed of course. I also use used gaskets with the plates.

....Cotten

Post Mon Sep 11, 2006 9:43 pm

Posts: 309
Location: Cranbrook B.C. Canada
Thanks Chris and Cotton. I wrote those numbers in my book.
Larry


Return to Pans

cron