FAQ  •  Register  •  Login

torque plates

Moderators: Curt!, Pa

<<

h.d.ryder

Posts: 287

Joined: Sun Nov 10, 2002 1:01 am

Location: Cranbrook B.C. Canada

Post Sun Sep 10, 2006 10:14 pm

torque plates

Hi everyone. I made up a set of torque plates for Pan cylinders. Does anyone know what the torque is on a set of"Pan" head bolts. Thanks in advance.
Larry
<<

Chris Haynes

Posts: 2631

Joined: Wed Jul 05, 2000 12:01 am

Location: Los Angeles, CA

Post Sun Sep 10, 2006 11:24 pm

The answer the old time factory wrench at my local dealer gave me back in the '60's was, "Tight is tight and too tight is broken" I use a factory head bolt wrench. When the wrench flexes about an inch I figgure they are tight.

By the way, that factory wrench from back in the '60s is still working. He is the oldest still working factory trained mechanic. These days he works for Bartells H.-D. wrenching and traveling with his race team. If your are ever at the races and the Bartells team is there go say hi to oldtimer Earl Kellerman. You will never regret meeting him. Hell, he has forgotten more than Plumber has ever written. ;-)
<<

Cotten

User avatar

Posts: 2675

Joined: Thu Sep 30, 1999 12:01 am

Location: Central Illinois, USA

Post Mon Sep 11, 2006 6:23 am

Larry!

I use 60 ft/lbs on the headbolts, and a full 40 on the basenuts.
(35 is usually spec'd for basenuts, but they seem to loosen in service at that torque.)

And well-lubed of course. I also use used gaskets with the plates.

....Cotten
<<

h.d.ryder

Posts: 287

Joined: Sun Nov 10, 2002 1:01 am

Location: Cranbrook B.C. Canada

Post Mon Sep 11, 2006 9:43 pm

Thanks Chris and Cotton. I wrote those numbers in my book.
Larry

Return to Pans

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: Yahoo [Bot] and 1 guest

cron
Powered by phpBB © 2000, 2002, 2005, 2007, 2012 phpBB Group.