FAQ  •  Register  •  Login

Running without a battery ?

Moderators: Curt!, Pa

<<

LilBill

Posts: 39

Joined: Sun Jun 19, 2005 12:01 am

Location: Hot Springs, Ar.

Post Tue Dec 28, 2010 4:50 pm

Running without a battery ?

I'm useing a FB mag on my 45 and would like to run without a battery at all. Will a 3 brush supply a headlite and taillite without overcharging if there's no battery in the circuit ?
Image
<<

Frankenstein

User avatar

Posts: 1531

Joined: Thu Jun 27, 2002 12:01 am

Location: Interlaken, NY USA

Post Tue Dec 28, 2010 7:14 pm

Re: Running without a battery ?

The 3 brush won't do the job without a battery. The battery controls the system voltage with a 3 brush setup. However, if you convert the 3 brush to a 2 brush, and use a voltage regulator, then there's no problem. If you already have the 3 brush, I'd suggest throwing in a set of 12 volt 65A fields, remove the 3rd brush, add your favorite 12 volt regulator, and you're set. You might want to do a search here for more info on the 12 volt conversion. It should run a halogen headlight no problem.
DD
<<

45Brit

Posts: 1364

Joined: Tue Nov 27, 2007 2:29 am

Post Tue Dec 28, 2010 7:25 pm

Re: Running without a battery ?

I've never really understood why running without a battery is such a common conversion - the weight loss is trivial and it much improves the overall functioning of the system by regulating the voltage and providing full current at the points when starting

interesting front wheel, by the way - Honda?
Shoot, a man could have a good weekend in Dallas with all that stuff...
<<

LilBill

Posts: 39

Joined: Sun Jun 19, 2005 12:01 am

Location: Hot Springs, Ar.

Post Tue Dec 28, 2010 7:39 pm

Re: Running without a battery ?

running a mag. i'm useing an under seat oil tank and theres no handy place for a battery. in fact i doubt if i'll ever ride this bike at night, just want something to show the police. the front wheel is a 1970 xs1 yamaha
Image
<<

LilBill

Posts: 39

Joined: Sun Jun 19, 2005 12:01 am

Location: Hot Springs, Ar.

Post Tue Dec 28, 2010 7:49 pm

Re: Running without a battery ?

Frankenstein wrote:The 3 brush won't do the job without a battery. The battery controls the system voltage with a 3 brush setup. However, if you convert the 3 brush to a 2 brush, and use a voltage regulator, then there's no problem. If you already have the 3 brush, I'd suggest throwing in a set of 12 volt 65A fields, remove the 3rd brush, add your favorite 12 volt regulator, and you're set. You might want to do a search here for more info on the 12 volt conversion. It should run a halogen headlight no problem.
DD

how about a 2 brush 6v ? panhead maybe ? i'm useing some old 6v lighting i'd rather not convert.
<<

George Greer

User avatar

Posts: 947

Joined: Wed Aug 28, 2002 12:01 am

Location: Markt Einersheim, Germany

Post Tue Dec 28, 2010 11:03 pm

Re: Running without a battery ?

NIce bike and shop.

More info about it? Other photos?

George
<<

LilBill

Posts: 39

Joined: Sun Jun 19, 2005 12:01 am

Location: Hot Springs, Ar.

Post Tue Dec 28, 2010 11:13 pm

Re: Running without a battery ?

George Greer wrote:NIce bike and shop.

More info about it? Other photos?

George


thanks. i'm retired and that's just my hobby shop. it's a jumbled up mess with project bikes scattered all over it but i like it.
here's a thread on another forum that i'm using to cover the build.
http://www.jockeyjournal.com/forum/showthread.php?t=75646
<<

dalaymond

Posts: 304

Joined: Mon Oct 25, 2004 12:01 am

Location: Jonesville, Louisiana, USA

Post Wed Dec 29, 2010 8:09 am

Re: Running without a battery ?

Nice bike's and shop ya got there.
<<

Frankenstein

User avatar

Posts: 1531

Joined: Thu Jun 27, 2002 12:01 am

Location: Interlaken, NY USA

Post Wed Dec 29, 2010 8:33 am

Re: Running without a battery ?

Don't mind me, I have a thing for 12V 32E's. Sure, 6V is o.k, depending on the year of your cases and the model generator, you may have to do the 1/4-24 to 5/16 thread conversion. However, most 6V regulators are bulkier than the 12volt ones, which might be important to you. Nice use of Norton parts, the front brake is supposed to be good unit. I believe there were TLS conversions for that, if you want more stopping power. And it's pretty much agreed the Norton box is the best of the Brit boxes.
DD
<<

celticdodge

Posts: 139

Joined: Mon Mar 27, 2006 5:29 am

Location: USA

Post Wed Dec 29, 2010 9:58 am

Re: Running without a battery ?

Running a similar set up,used a 2 brush 12 volt sportster generator (#299750-65A),a 1959-81 XL,2 brush 14 tooth gear drive,and a 3 wire solid state Accel voltage regulator.The magneto is wired on its own circuit separate from everything else,no key,no hidden wires in the frame that you can't get to or find in the middle of the night, just a circuit board attached on the rear diagonal support for easy accessibility .The circuit board was used to also enable someone to detach and disconnect the rear tail light or any other wires as needed for racing conditions and then be able to hook everything back up to be street legal.Pretty much like the old sportsters that ran magnetos only.Hope this helps someone out there. :D



http://i91.photobucket.com/albums/k309/ ... CF0481.jpg

http://i91.photobucket.com/albums/k309/ ... CF0480.jpg
<<

37ULH

Posts: 681

Joined: Mon Nov 25, 2002 1:01 am

Location: somerset, oh usa

Post Wed Dec 29, 2010 7:16 pm

Re: Running without a battery ?

Very nice. Looking forward to checking out more details via your link.
<<

45Brit

Posts: 1364

Joined: Tue Nov 27, 2007 2:29 am

Post Thu Dec 30, 2010 5:28 pm

Re: Running without a battery ?

Norton/AMC boxes are the preferred choice for vintage racers of various descriptions, the clutch plates can be interchanged for Jawa speedway ones for racing but for road use, it's not really beneficial
Shoot, a man could have a good weekend in Dallas with all that stuff...

Return to 45 Flatties

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: Bing [Bot], Google [Bot] and 4 guests

Powered by phpBB © 2000, 2002, 2005, 2007, 2012 phpBB Group.