FAQ  •  Register  •  Login

brand new GEN don't works ....

Moderators: Curt!, Pa

<<

milwaukee belle

User avatar

Posts: 923

Joined: Thu Jul 24, 2003 12:01 am

Location: South Provence of FRANCE

Post Wed Oct 22, 2008 7:38 am

brand new GEN don't works ....

Hi !
i have bought a new General Electrics generator with incorporated low-input régulator to replace the old and burned 32-E on the "Joe Petrali" scoot .

new generator has been polarized following instructions sheet

all wires has been conected following instructions sheet :
red to Armature
green to Field
end cover stud B to + battery

here is the new wiring diagram :

Image

now : question :

is it normal it delivers 26 VOLTSto the battery when i start the engine ?????

what do you think about this ?:
- is the régulator dead ??? ( brand-new-dead :shock: )
- is there something wrong in my wiring diagram ?

and a last one ;

where will-i connect the wire to light the green bulb ???

thanks by advance
Fran-6
<<

rocket ron

Posts: 50

Joined: Tue Jul 30, 2002 12:01 am

Location: London, England

Post Wed Oct 22, 2008 10:54 am

Re: brand new GEN don't works ....

Is it Taiwanese? I've had four of them and they all went back for that reason. It's the regulator thats faulty, I'm running two of the generators and they seem OK. The Supplier they came from doesn't even bother to check them, sent two back and the replacements were just the same. I've heard of others having the same problem.
<<

milwaukee belle

User avatar

Posts: 923

Joined: Thu Jul 24, 2003 12:01 am

Location: South Provence of FRANCE

Post Wed Oct 22, 2008 1:38 pm

Re: brand new GEN don't works ....

this is a good answer !
and you confirm all other friends told me on other forums :D .

but this générator is sold under the "general Electrics" brand :? :? :? and i effectively think it cames from Taiwan ....

Well : the supplyer just said me he is gonna send me FREE an other complete unit very quick .

but : if it don't works TOO :
do you think i could simply :

REMOVE the régulator
and replace it by an electronic one sold by 45'Parts Depot ( i know these ones are Okay ! )

( it is for a 1200 Flathead )
<<

Frankenstein

User avatar

Posts: 1543

Joined: Thu Jun 27, 2002 12:01 am

Location: Interlaken, NY USA

Post Wed Oct 22, 2008 6:02 pm

Re: brand new GEN don't works ....

Fran-6, You can try the 45 depot regulator, but parts inside may not be able to handle the additional load the 65A type generator creates. If you've got one laying around, by all means try it. By the way, you can hook up the wire for the idiot lamp to the Armature terminal to make the light work.
By the way, I REALLY like your Schematic drawings!! First Class! You must have way too much time on your hands if you have time to create such masterpieces.. :wink:
Also, the symptom you give indicates that the green wire to the field may be shorted to ground. I suppose it's all enclosed in Goop that can't be removed though.
DD
<<

Pa

Site Admin

Posts: 4652

Joined: Sun Mar 12, 2000 1:01 am

Location: Ohio USA

Post Thu Oct 23, 2008 4:41 am

Re: brand new GEN don't works ....

Doc......Fran-6 hasn't got any spare time. He is just really good at artistry. Fast too ! :D I'd venture to say, his time doing the drawing was, maybe, 10 minutes. Am I close Fran-6 ? :wink: Pa
<<

Carl Olsen

Posts: 65

Joined: Fri Nov 04, 2005 3:42 pm

Location: Aberdeen, SD

Post Thu Oct 23, 2008 5:55 am

Re: brand new GEN don't works ....

Go buy a Cycle Electric generator with the built in regulator, they are advertised as the last generator you will ever have to buy, and it is true. I have had one on one of my knuckles for over 12 years and use them exclusively on 12 volt conversions, they are the best and American made.
Carl
<<

Cotten

User avatar

Posts: 2667

Joined: Thu Sep 30, 1999 12:01 am

Location: Central Illinois, USA

Post Thu Oct 23, 2008 6:54 am

Re: brand new GEN don't works ....

I'll echo Carl, but suggest CE's standard generator with a hide-able separate CE102L regulator instead.

Those end-mount billet thingies are obscene.

....Cotten
<<

milwaukee belle

User avatar

Posts: 923

Joined: Thu Jul 24, 2003 12:01 am

Location: South Provence of FRANCE

Post Thu Oct 23, 2008 10:41 am

Re: brand new GEN don't works ....

Carl Olsen wrote:Go buy a Cycle Electric generator with the built in regulator, they are advertised as the last generator you will ever have to buy, and it is true. I have had one on one of my knuckles for over 12 years and use them exclusively on 12 volt conversions, they are the best and American made.
Carl


you want to know the story ?
i have ORDERED a Cycle Electric !
( i have insisted for it ! )
and they sent me a V-twin brand ( taiwan )
<<

Carl Olsen

Posts: 65

Joined: Fri Nov 04, 2005 3:42 pm

Location: Aberdeen, SD

Post Thu Oct 23, 2008 8:35 pm

Re: brand new GEN don't works ....

I just got a batch in and can send you one, give me a call at 605-225-5702.
Carl
<<

milwaukee belle

User avatar

Posts: 923

Joined: Thu Jul 24, 2003 12:01 am

Location: South Provence of FRANCE

Post Fri Oct 24, 2008 12:42 am

Re: brand new GEN don't works ....

Carl : it's very kind of you !
but i'm gonna wait now for the second régulator i will get soon ...(actually in a parcel , somewhere between the States and my workshop )

if it don't works again :evil: then : i will "improvise"

i have other options i have read on other forums :

- breack the balls of my supplyer for getting a third one ( under guarantee )
- breack the balls of my supplyer for getting a fourth one ( under guarantee )
- v-twin gen + 45' P.D reg. ( like on G.Greer's scoot )
- completely re-wire the scoot into 6 Volts + one of these new halogen 6V bulbs

so bad so much troubles for a so small problem ....
<<

john HD

User avatar

Posts: 302

Joined: Sun Mar 19, 2006 5:26 pm

Location: madison wisconsin usa

Post Fri Oct 24, 2008 4:49 am

Re: brand new GEN don't works ....

hey fran,

i agree with frankie, you can put that loose wire on the armature terminal to get the dash light to work.

as for your regulator, one of our members at the hydra glide forum ran across a regulator with the wires mis labled!

read the very last post in this thread http://www.hydra-glide.com/phpBB3/viewtopic.php?f=5&t=3663 perhaps yours is mis marked too!

john
<<

George Greer

User avatar

Posts: 961

Joined: Wed Aug 28, 2002 12:01 am

Location: Markt Einersheim, Germany

Post Fri Oct 24, 2008 9:02 am

Re: brand new GEN don't works ....

Hey Fran-6....

Got on my WLA a Cycle-Electric Generator.

Got the regulator from Unka Kurt....

Panasonic 12V Emergency Lighting Supply battery.

It has not had a problem since installation. :D

George
<<

Chris Haynes

Posts: 2616

Joined: Wed Jul 05, 2000 12:01 am

Location: Los Angeles, CA

Post Fri Oct 24, 2008 11:10 am

Re: brand new GEN don't works ....

you want to know the story ?
i have ORDERED a Cycle Electric !
( i have insisted for it ! )
and they sent me a V-twin brand ( taiwan )[/quote]

Who is the "THEY" that you ordered it from? I would be returning it to them. :twisted:
<<

milwaukee belle

User avatar

Posts: 923

Joined: Thu Jul 24, 2003 12:01 am

Location: South Provence of FRANCE

Post Sat Oct 25, 2008 1:33 am

Re: brand new GEN don't works ....

"THEY" is : the guys at the other side of the phone ...
supplyers ...V-Twin .

an i will not return anything :
"they" are so shamy , "they" send me a new COMPLETE unit .
( that is to say : a new générator + a new régulator :wink: )
<<

milwaukee belle

User avatar

Posts: 923

Joined: Thu Jul 24, 2003 12:01 am

Location: South Provence of FRANCE

Post Sat Oct 25, 2008 1:56 am

Re: brand new GEN don't works ....

john HD wrote:hey fran,

i agree with frankie, you can put that loose wire on the armature terminal to get the dash light to work.

as for your regulator, one of our members at the hydra glide forum ran across a regulator with the wires mis labled!

read the very last post in this thread http://www.hydra-glide.com/phpBB3/viewtopic.php?f=5&t=3663 perhaps yours is mis marked too!

john


John :
i don't have the same model of régulator .
mine just has the red and green wires + one positive pole ( no black wire )
and it don't has the leds .

buy anyway : the post was very-very interressant : just about the BAD INFORMATIONS given by the sellers .
i have discovered i am not the only one dumb on earth to get problems with the instructions sheets :
read what i have discovered :

when decrating the new gen : it was WIRED with the régulator ; "ready-to-go" as they said .
but they also said " you must properly POLARIZE the new gen .
i read the instr.sheet and did just as they said me to do .
FLASH !
and then : I have burned ( by myself ) the régulator .

COZ NOWHERE THERE IS WRITTEN " UNWIRE THE REG. BEFORE POLARIZING THE GEN "

now i think about all this and i think i am really a dumb ....
if only i should have take time to use my brain instead reading the instr. sheet :
i am sure the reg . should work properly now .....

Return to General Whatever-Technical

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: Google [Bot] and 1 guest

Powered by phpBB © 2000, 2002, 2005, 2007, 2012 phpBB Group.