Board index Flathead Power-Technical Questions, Answers, and Suggestions General Whatever-Technical brand new GEN don't works ....

brand new GEN don't works ....

Pretty much anything not covered by the topics above. Short lived production bikes or vehicles, Electrical, Tires, Paint, Brakes, etc. Use this for tech questions, and "Shoot the Bull" for general conversation, no tech.

Moderators: Curt!, Pa

Post Wed Oct 22, 2008 7:38 am

Posts: 923
Location: South Provence of FRANCE

Hi !
i have bought a new General Electrics generator with incorporated low-input régulator to replace the old and burned 32-E on the "Joe Petrali" scoot .

new generator has been polarized following instructions sheet

all wires has been conected following instructions sheet :
red to Armature
green to Field
end cover stud B to + battery

here is the new wiring diagram :

Image

now : question :

is it normal it delivers 26 VOLTSto the battery when i start the engine ?????

what do you think about this ?:
- is the régulator dead ??? ( brand-new-dead :shock: )
- is there something wrong in my wiring diagram ?

and a last one ;

where will-i connect the wire to light the green bulb ???

thanks by advance
Fran-6

Post Wed Oct 22, 2008 10:54 am

Posts: 53
Location: London, England
Is it Taiwanese? I've had four of them and they all went back for that reason. It's the regulator thats faulty, I'm running two of the generators and they seem OK. The Supplier they came from doesn't even bother to check them, sent two back and the replacements were just the same. I've heard of others having the same problem.

Post Wed Oct 22, 2008 1:38 pm

Posts: 923
Location: South Provence of FRANCE

this is a good answer !
and you confirm all other friends told me on other forums :D .

but this générator is sold under the "general Electrics" brand :? :? :? and i effectively think it cames from Taiwan ....

Well : the supplyer just said me he is gonna send me FREE an other complete unit very quick .

but : if it don't works TOO :
do you think i could simply :

REMOVE the régulator
and replace it by an electronic one sold by 45'Parts Depot ( i know these ones are Okay ! )

( it is for a 1200 Flathead )

Post Wed Oct 22, 2008 6:02 pm

Posts: 1659
Location: Interlaken, NY USA

Fran-6, You can try the 45 depot regulator, but parts inside may not be able to handle the additional load the 65A type generator creates. If you've got one laying around, by all means try it. By the way, you can hook up the wire for the idiot lamp to the Armature terminal to make the light work.
By the way, I REALLY like your Schematic drawings!! First Class! You must have way too much time on your hands if you have time to create such masterpieces.. :wink:
Also, the symptom you give indicates that the green wire to the field may be shorted to ground. I suppose it's all enclosed in Goop that can't be removed though.
DD

Post Thu Oct 23, 2008 4:41 am
Pa Site Admin

Posts: 5661
Location: Ohio USA

Doc......Fran-6 hasn't got any spare time. He is just really good at artistry. Fast too ! :D I'd venture to say, his time doing the drawing was, maybe, 10 minutes. Am I close Fran-6 ? :wink: Pa

Post Thu Oct 23, 2008 5:55 am

Posts: 65
Location: Aberdeen, SD

Go buy a Cycle Electric generator with the built in regulator, they are advertised as the last generator you will ever have to buy, and it is true. I have had one on one of my knuckles for over 12 years and use them exclusively on 12 volt conversions, they are the best and American made.
Carl

Post Thu Oct 23, 2008 6:54 am

Posts: 3058
Location: Central Illinois, USA
I'll echo Carl, but suggest CE's standard generator with a hide-able separate CE102L regulator instead.

Those end-mount billet thingies are obscene.

....Cotten

Post Thu Oct 23, 2008 10:41 am

Posts: 923
Location: South Provence of FRANCE

Carl Olsen wrote:
Go buy a Cycle Electric generator with the built in regulator, they are advertised as the last generator you will ever have to buy, and it is true. I have had one on one of my knuckles for over 12 years and use them exclusively on 12 volt conversions, they are the best and American made.
Carl


you want to know the story ?
i have ORDERED a Cycle Electric !
( i have insisted for it ! )
and they sent me a V-twin brand ( taiwan )

Post Thu Oct 23, 2008 8:35 pm

Posts: 65
Location: Aberdeen, SD

I just got a batch in and can send you one, give me a call at 605-225-5702.
Carl

Post Fri Oct 24, 2008 12:42 am

Posts: 923
Location: South Provence of FRANCE

Carl : it's very kind of you !
but i'm gonna wait now for the second régulator i will get soon ...(actually in a parcel , somewhere between the States and my workshop )

if it don't works again :evil: then : i will "improvise"

i have other options i have read on other forums :

- breack the balls of my supplyer for getting a third one ( under guarantee )
- breack the balls of my supplyer for getting a fourth one ( under guarantee )
- v-twin gen + 45' P.D reg. ( like on G.Greer's scoot )
- completely re-wire the scoot into 6 Volts + one of these new halogen 6V bulbs

so bad so much troubles for a so small problem ....

Post Fri Oct 24, 2008 4:49 am

Posts: 377
Location: madison wisconsin usa
hey fran,

i agree with frankie, you can put that loose wire on the armature terminal to get the dash light to work.

as for your regulator, one of our members at the hydra glide forum ran across a regulator with the wires mis labled!

read the very last post in this thread http://www.hydra-glide.com/phpBB3/viewtopic.php?f=5&t=3663 perhaps yours is mis marked too!

john

Post Fri Oct 24, 2008 9:02 am

Posts: 975
Location: Markt Einersheim, Germany

Hey Fran-6....

Got on my WLA a Cycle-Electric Generator.

Got the regulator from Unka Kurt....

Panasonic 12V Emergency Lighting Supply battery.

It has not had a problem since installation. :D

George

Post Fri Oct 24, 2008 11:10 am

Posts: 2683
Location: Los Angeles, CA
you want to know the story ?
i have ORDERED a Cycle Electric !
( i have insisted for it ! )
and they sent me a V-twin brand ( taiwan )[/quote]

Who is the "THEY" that you ordered it from? I would be returning it to them. :twisted:

Post Sat Oct 25, 2008 1:33 am

Posts: 923
Location: South Provence of FRANCE

"THEY" is : the guys at the other side of the phone ...
supplyers ...V-Twin .

an i will not return anything :
"they" are so shamy , "they" send me a new COMPLETE unit .
( that is to say : a new générator + a new régulator :wink: )

Post Sat Oct 25, 2008 1:56 am

Posts: 923
Location: South Provence of FRANCE

john HD wrote:
hey fran,

i agree with frankie, you can put that loose wire on the armature terminal to get the dash light to work.

as for your regulator, one of our members at the hydra glide forum ran across a regulator with the wires mis labled!

read the very last post in this thread http://www.hydra-glide.com/phpBB3/viewtopic.php?f=5&t=3663 perhaps yours is mis marked too!

john


John :
i don't have the same model of régulator .
mine just has the red and green wires + one positive pole ( no black wire )
and it don't has the leds .

buy anyway : the post was very-very interressant : just about the BAD INFORMATIONS given by the sellers .
i have discovered i am not the only one dumb on earth to get problems with the instructions sheets :
read what i have discovered :

when decrating the new gen : it was WIRED with the régulator ; "ready-to-go" as they said .
but they also said " you must properly POLARIZE the new gen .
i read the instr.sheet and did just as they said me to do .
FLASH !
and then : I have burned ( by myself ) the régulator .

COZ NOWHERE THERE IS WRITTEN " UNWIRE THE REG. BEFORE POLARIZING THE GEN "

now i think about all this and i think i am really a dumb ....
if only i should have take time to use my brain instead reading the instr. sheet :
i am sure the reg . should work properly now .....


Return to General Whatever-Technical