FAQ  •  Register  •  Login

Electrical Problem

Moderators: Curt!, Pa

<<

42Knuckle42

Posts: 29

Joined: Wed Jun 07, 2006 11:29 am

Location: Boston, MA

Post Mon Jul 14, 2008 8:55 am

Electrical Problem

This is a new problem, from my a previous post, with another bike.

The bike will shutt off while running when I switch the lites on. So, I'm thinking there must be a short somewhere bewtween the ignition switch and the head light. But everything seems to be ok.

Any thoughts?

Thanks
<<

Chris Haynes

Posts: 2631

Joined: Wed Jul 05, 2000 12:01 am

Location: Los Angeles, CA

Post Mon Jul 14, 2008 10:03 pm

Re: Electrical Problem

Could be a short in the tail lamp too :mrgreen:
<<

john HD

User avatar

Posts: 303

Joined: Sun Mar 19, 2006 5:26 pm

Location: madison wisconsin usa

Post Tue Jul 15, 2008 8:00 pm

Re: Electrical Problem

bad switch?

john
<<

37ULH

Posts: 684

Joined: Mon Nov 25, 2002 1:01 am

Location: somerset, oh usa

Post Wed Jul 16, 2008 12:40 am

Re: Electrical Problem

If using a stock switch it could be that it just needs used. Will it not run at all with the lights on or will it just die when monkeying with the switch?
Clean the contacts and bar under the switch. Or normal use will relieve the problem if so.
<<

VPH-D

Posts: 43

Joined: Fri Jan 18, 2008 2:24 pm

Post Wed Jul 16, 2008 12:53 pm

Re: Electrical Problem

Some [most] aftermarket switches have too much play in them and will kill the bike at idle when switching from ignition to light position. They will also try to kill the motor as you are running down the road. If you are able to avoid the engine stopping by quickly changing switch positions, that is your problem.
PS, the H-D eagle iron ign switch is worthless, also.
VPH-D
<<

42Knuckle42

Posts: 29

Joined: Wed Jun 07, 2006 11:29 am

Location: Boston, MA

Post Thu Jul 17, 2008 1:15 pm

Re: Electrical Problem

I thought I had posted a reply but see it is not listed

I had been having other electrical problems with this bike and assumed the worse. But when starting from the beginning, it seems one of the screws on the terminal tab loosened up. I have to remember to keep things simple before worrying about larger problems

Thanks!

Return to Knuckles

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: Google [Bot], Yahoo [Bot] and 5 guests

Powered by phpBB © 2000, 2002, 2005, 2007, 2012 phpBB Group.